The Perfect Road Trip.

Ever since I was little my family (my mum, dad and brother) would go out for a drive just because. It was something we just did and have always done. Going for a drive has always been something I associate with being happy. Looking back I also think it was to do with living on the island as it was and still is just a common way of life there, people just go for a drive… why not?!(Besides the lack of anything else to do… but that’s not the point)

There’s something about going on a drive that is almost exciting to me, the experience relaxes me and all I care about is what is happening in that moment. I’m as happy going for a drive by myself as I am with other people and in my opinion the longer the drive the better. Due to the way I was raised, going for a drive was a very normal thing for me and I never thought twice about it. That was until I met John.

John is not a driving for the sake of driving kind of guy. He is a driving from A to B because he needs to kind of guy. And until John I had never met someone (mainly probably because it’s not something you normally talk about in everyday conversation) that actively didn’t enjoy just going for a drive.

Not that it’s a big deal, I had just never really thought about the people that don’t enjoy driving for the sake of driving. For some people it’s just something they have to do, for others it can be stressful and cause anxiety and for others you could call it an inconvenience.

However, I am going to tell you why I think a good old road trip is one of the best things you can do and what you need to take.

For starters there are no real limitations on where you can go – besides off road… and even then if you have a 4×4 the worlds your oyster. You can just spontaneously decide you’re going to drive somewhere and just go, you don’t have to plan and coordinate, you can just get up and go.

Secondly, what’s more fun than taking a picnic (or is that just me?)?! I love a good picnic, with your sarnies and some snacks and a bag of sweets and probably some fruit thrown in to try and be healthy. The picnic in itself is fun so doing it as well as a road trip – what could be better?!

Well there are a few things you can add to make it better actually, beginning with some awesome tunes! A dedicated DJ is always a good idea… get your requests in before the trip to make sure you have them. Before you know it you’ll have a soundtrack for your road trip that will make it all the more special.

To add to the banging tunes don’t forget a camera. A camera is an essential piece of equipment on a road trip… how else are you going to document everywhere you’ve been?! It also means that the memories of your trip will always last, and can be pulled out in a few years when you’re feeling all nostalgic.

Take some activities with you, whether it be a surfboard or a cricket bat, or a deck of cards for the less active! As depending on where you go on this road trip, lack of internet and wifi should only add to the experience not hinder.

Why not make it a trip away by taking or buying the essentials to be able to camp, that way you can make it last a whole weekend!

Okay so a quick checklist of the essentials you will need:

  • A tent
  • Air beds (or something that raises you off ground level)
  • Sleeping bags
  • Pillows and lots of blankets
  • A portable gas hob
  • Throwaway BBQ’s
  • Battery powered fairy lights
  • A cool box & a picnic hamper if you like
  • Games and accessorise for entertainment
  • Portable speakers
  • At least 1 camera
  • Lots of food & alcohol (for those over 18!) (also do NOT drink and drive!)
  • A few torches
maps
Maps Maps Maps
IMG_7594
Wanderlust
IMG_7633
Wanderer
IMG_7637
The Salty Air
IMG_7648
The Open Road
IMG_7652
Cool Runnings
IMG_7658
Unloading
camping
Camping Nights
polaroids
Moments
trees
Where to..
sea view
Sea View

So I hope this has inspired you to go for a road trip next time you have some spare time on your hands!

Fiona XOXO

Leave a Reply

